Assuming this isn't an app you can simply uninstall, try opening the app, going into Settings and looking for an option to disable sync. Most apps have that option.
Alternatively, if you don't need it, remove it from your homescreens. That way it shouldn't do anything at all. You can always download an alternative that lets you update manually.