• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

what is rooting?

Root doesn't unlock your phone for other carriers. It gives you super user access aka SU. It will allow you to flash custom ROMs and themes. Some apps require root to work properly.
Thanks. I'm a newb, with my first smartphone, and rooted it yesterday with considerable help from a friend. I now have an app on the top page, titled superuser (SU), but I'm not entirely certain where I go from here. SU says "no apps" and I'm not clear how I get it (SU) to manage my unwanted apps. Thanks in advance for your reply.

Upvote 0
Basically superuser is almost like UAC in Windows. An app tjat requires root will prompt you to give it super user access. You can deny it if not sure but if you allow it then appears in that list as an app you have approved. You then get a message when it obtains SU access again. You are rooted tho if you see the super user app ;)

Upvote 0
At&t Galaxy Note (unlocked)
Model # Samsung sgh-I717
Android version 4.1.2
Baseband I717 UCMD3
Kernel 3.0.31-1117019
Build JZO 54K.I717UCMD
Using T-Mobile $30 per mo unlimited text and web with 100 min talk. online only plan

(This was in response to post #78)

This last paragraph says it all for me. I really appreciate you all taking your time to explain this to us noobies. To somewhat paraphrase your advise: Don't root your phone unless you a. know what you are doing b. have an older phone to "practice" on c. love stressful situations or d. are rich enough to replace it (in which case you could hire someone to do it for you), because for the average person the manufacturer has already tweaked the phone to function at its best and has most of us locked out so we don't accidentally delete a key operation, bricking it in the process. I have decided to take your advise and NOT try to fix my unbroken phone. Again, thanks.

Upvote 0
At&t Galaxy Note (unlocked)
Model # Samsung sgh-I717