Check your Accounts & Sync settings. I think if you choose the Facebook for Sense one to auto sync with contacts, it only updates your friends that are already on your phone.
If you
uncheck the sync options for the regular Facebook one, it removes the friends that are not already on your phone (sync'd through Gmail or HTC Sync).
Try that and see if it accomplishes what you needed.