• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root How to use ADB to determine screen

Nayr747

I know there's a thread in the guides, but it doesn't actually explain how to use ADB to do this. I'd like to root my phone but I'm a total novice. Can anyone explain in simple terms how to determine which screen I have? I have 2.2.2 and I think I bought it sometime in late 2011, early 2012.

The Pre-Packaged ADB installer is fool proof. Takes 5 minutes to establish ADB in the system path of your PC.
You have to have Busybox installed for the code to work.
The shell commands need to start with:
adb shell
if you don't get a # after you type it in, type this in next:
su
You should now get a #, if you still get a $ you need to check your root.

Thanks for the help so far! Ok, here's what I've done:
Installed SDK and ADB (on Win7 x64).
Installed the three drivers from here: http://optimusv.wikispaces.com/ADB+-+Android+Debug+Bridge.
Checked "unknown sources" on my phone.
Connected my phone to my laptop and clicked "turn on USB storage".
Pulled up command prompt in C:\Users\Ry\AppData\Local\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools
Typed "adb devices" and got "A10000194146D9 device".
Typed "adb shell" and got a $.
Typed "su" and got "su: permission denied".
Typing in "grep hitachi" or "grep novatek" gets "grep: permission denied".
Tried typing "adb shell dmesg | grep hitachi"/novatek and get "'grep' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or bath file". But I'm not sure I'm using the right key for the vertical line. I shift clicked the key with the backslash and the vertical line with a gap in the middle.
BusyBox says phone needs to be rooted before I can install it.

This is all just attempting to determine my phone's version and screen before I can even root it since the guide says it's a good idea to do so. Do I even need to do this?

Tried typing "adb shell dmesg | grep hitachi"/novatek