• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Having Difficulty Flashing Amon-RA

Borat38

Dec 31, 2010
Ok, so I've rooted w/ unrEVOked 3.31 and S-OFF'd w/ ALphaRev 1.8. My next step would be to flash Amon-RA (I don't want ClockworkMod).

I've been instructed to put the flash_image file into my SD card root directory, and then to chmod it. Problem is, I'm a total noob to Android/ Linux, and don't know how to chmod.

I tried to follow the instructions given, but when I type "adb shell", it comes out: "adb: permission denied".

So I type in "su," and I become Superuser (#), and proceed to type the command "mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system [then hit enter]"

And then the instructions say "In a new terminal window (don't close the original one)":

adb push flash_image /system/bin [hit enter]
exit
[hit enter]

"And then in the original terminal window, type":

chmod 755 /system/bin/flash_image [hit enter]

And then "exit all terminal windows and reboot your phone"

PROBLEM IS: How do I create a second terminal window (am using Terminal Emulator) w/out closing the first one? And how do I switch between windows?

Also, what might I be doing wrong that I keep getting denied?

Thanks for any help, guys =)

I've tried the seemingly easy PC36IMG.zip method of flashing Amon_RA, but despite ClockworkMod showing that the zip file is on my SD card, the bootloader won't automatically detect and unzip it. Am I doing something wrong there?

Also, what's the difference between Amon_RA 2.0 and Amon_RA Supersonic v.2.2.1?

Is the latter just a newer version?

Upvote 0
this worries me as the method im reading is from the early days and nothing to do with the new types of desire/root/s-off methods

make sure your amonRA is 2.0.0 or 2.0.1

its really very very simple and you have 2 ways of doing it