On this phone there is only the option to Force Stop or Disable. When using Disable it asks if I want to put the app back to 'Factory' and when I select yes it reports 'Uninstalling' but the app remains in the list, albeit with substantially less storage used. This seems to be quite misleading and poorly thought out.
Actually it is doing what it says, though it could have been spelled out a bit more. "Putting the app back to factory" means uninstalling updates to the app, leaving just the copy in /system (i.e. the original version the phone would have come with). So the "uninstalling" is correct, in that it is uninstalling the copy that's in the normal app storage space, it's just that in this case there is another copy in the system which it cannot uninstall.
But hey, at least it asks you: these days Google seem so sure that they know better than you do that they don't even ask, e.g. I still have 79MB of Chrome, 32MB of GMail, 30 MB of Android Auto etc after disabling all of those apps - they just assume that I'll want to keep the last update even when I'm telling them I don't want the app at all (arrogantly assuming they know what you want is very much Google's way of working).