• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Any ROMS?

So im new to all this rom stuff. I just upgraded my phone to 4.0.3 and rooted it. Now im wondering if there are any good roms out there I can flash. I kinda want to try this cyanogen mod thing to see what all the fuss is about... I have the free rom manager app. Ive seen some cyanogen mod 9 roms on that but I dont really know what im doing.:confused:

I went onto rom manager and looked at the roms on there. I didn't even know that it had that option. Anyways it said that cyanogenmod 9 was available for my phone so I downloaded it. But when I installed it with rom manager it won't work. I just get stuck in a boot loop every time and have to restore.

I hope you have fixed it by now.

If not, I remember reading something about flashing, that you need to reset the caches in recoverymode after the install.

No I never fixed it. I had to give up cause nobody replied. I tried the dark side super wipe and cashe wipe but it didn't do anything.

Cyanogen Mod 9 has some bugs and things that arent working. You should really try Jedi Mind Trick which is a really fast rom.

This looks awesome -- will this also work on my Telus T989D?

Yes, all the roms in this guide will work with yours. Download Darkside Cache Wipe and Super Wipe. If you happen to get in a bootloop after flashing a rom, flash Cache Wipe in recovery and it should fix it. Also, before you flash a rom, make sure you have a nandroid backup in case you ever need to restore it in an emergency. A nandroid will save you a lot of headaches.